Highest Awards

"Sharing the Love of the Heart of Christ"

Watch the Special Honors Convocation for the Class of 2020

Each year at Honors Convocation, graduating seniors are honored for their accomplishments, including the special awards listed below. The recipients of these awards are not publicly named until the night of Honors Convocation. Below is a description of each award and the criteria for how students are selected to receive them.

The Clelian Award ~ Kristin Steiner

The Clelian Award, the highest award given to a graduating senior, is bestowed in honor of Blessed Clelia Merloni, the foundress of the Apostles of the Sacred Heart. This esteemed award is given to a senior who exemplifies the charism of the Apostles of the Sacred Heart and the ideals of Cor Jesu Academy, including compassion, service, loyalty, and love for the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The young woman chosen to receive the Clelian Award shares the love of the heart of Christ and is compelled by His love.

Sr. Anita Marie Giampetro Award ~ Anna Jost

The Sr. Anita Marie Giampetro, ASCJ Award is named in memory of Cor Jesu Academy’s founding principal, Sr. Anita Marie Giampetro, ASCJ. Sr. Anita Marie was outstanding leader and educator, who loved the girls of Cor Jesu and whose life was devoted to giving both intellectual and spiritual guidance to “her girls.” The award bearing her name recognizes a graduating senior who demonstrates the true spirit of Cor Jesu and who exemplifies Sr. Anita Marie’s generous and caring attitude in outstanding service to Cor Jesu Academy. 
    • Kristin Steiner

    • Anna Jost

Martin Luther King, Jr. Model of Justice Award ~ Hannah Calandro

The Martin Luther King Jr Model of Justice Award honors the dream of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., who sought equality and justice for all and to make the country a place where freedom and peace would flourish.  Winners are nominated by area schools and parishes.

Jennifer Anne Metherd Pro-Life Award ~ Grace Tiffin

The Jennifer Metherd Award is given to a senior who exemplifies dedication and conviction for life: the unborn, the poor, the aged, the infirm, the challenged. The award was established by Jennifer’s parents in memory of their daughter, Jennifer ’90, who passed away when she was 21 and dedicated her life to promoting the dignity of life in all its forms.

Archbishop May Award ~ Clare Campbell

The Archbishop May Service Award is an award given to one senior at each Catholic high school within the St. Louis Archdiocese each year. The seniors who receive this award are chosen based on their exemplification of community service during their high school career.
    • Hannah Calandro

    • Grace Tiffin

    • Clare Campbell

Top Ranking Seniors

Isobel Dernlan
    • Isobel Dernlan

Samantha Thompson
    • Samantha Thompson

Third-Ranking Senior
Molly Morrow
    • Molly Morrow

Fourth-Ranking Senior
Isabel Goetz
    • Isabel Goetz

Fifth-Ranking Senior
Lauren Payne
    • Lauren Payne

Athletic and Other Awards

The St. Louis Post-Dispatch Athlete Award is given to a graduate for her outstanding participation in athletics as well as her excellent academics

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Scholar Athlete ~ Molly Rolwes 

The Laura Milles Three-Sport Athlete Award is given in honor of Laura Milles, Class of 2013 

Laura Milles Three-Sport Athlete Award ~ Isobel Dernlan & Emily Chellis

The MSHSAA and the National Federation of State High School Associations gives an Award of Excellence to individuals from each Missouri High School for exemplary display of sportsmanship, ethics, and integrity.

MSHSAA Sportsmanship Award ~ Taylor Etling 

Each year the state of Missouri recognizes the top 100 high school seniors for their academic excellence, leadership, and co-curricular activities.

Missouri Scholars 100 ~ Isobel Dernlan

The BSN and Under Armour Women of Will Graduation Award is presented to an outstanding senior female athlete who exemplifies what it truly means to be a student athlete.

Women of Will Graduation Award ~ Mackenzie Nolan

Academic Awards

The Outstanding Student Award is given to a senior in each department. The departments give the award to a student who exhibits, not only high academic achievement but also curiosity in the subject, resilience and perseverance. These students work hard and go above and beyond, bringing enthusiasm and determination with them to the class. The members of each department decide on the winners of this award as a team.

Excellence in Instrumental Performance ~ Allison Leible

Excellence in Music ~ Samantha Thompson

Outstanding Student in Visual Art ~ Mary Kate Charles

Outstanding Student in Theatre ~ Caroline Bruer & Catherine Hannon

Vivan Pasetti Drama Award ~ Samantha Thompson

Outstanding Student in Theology ~ Catherine Hannon

Outstanding Students in World Languages

    Chinese ~ Hailee Settlemoir
    French ~ Julia Boyet

    Latin ~ Isobel Dernlan

    Spanish ~ Anastasia Ramig & Isobel Dernlan

Outstanding Student in Life Sciences ~ Lillian Rogers

Outstanding Student in Physical Sciences ~ Isobel Goetz

Outstanding Student in Mathematics ~ Charlotte Steuby

Jane Laurentius Award for Excellence in English ~ Katherine Borgmeyer

Clare Furay Writing Award ~ Mary Messina

Donna Sokol Johnson Excellence in Social Studies ~ Catherine Hannon

Sr. Mary Grimi Award for Excellence in American History ~ Claire Jumper

Dr. William A. Joern Outstanding Student in Independent Science Research Award ~ Megan Kohl

National Merit Scholarship Program

Finalists (Ranked in the top half percent of the Class of 2020)

Grace Hinrichs 
Isobel Dernlan (also received a perfect ACT score)
Bridget Hagene

Commended (Top 5% of the National Merit Program)

Katherine Borgmeyer
Maria Franzen
Molly Morrow
Anastasia Ramig (also received a perfect ACT score)
Charlotte Steuby
Samantha Thompson
Molly Watson

Other Awards

Watlow Scholars Award

(Awarded to students demonstrating a strong interest in Engineering)

Isobel Dernlan
Anastasia Ramig

Campus Ministry Leadership Award

(Awarded to the Spiritual Leader for the School Community)

Molly Watson

Liturgical Music Award

(Awarded by both Campus Ministry and the Music Department)

Samantha Thompson

International Thespian Society President's Scholar List

Caroline Bruer
Catherine Hannon
Samantha Thompson

Prudential Spirit of Community Award

(Recognizes students who are active in volunteer work in their community)

Catherine Hannon